

Barcelona, 5th December 2018 amended version (10th December 2018)

New EIT Innovation Community on Urban Mobility

The European Institute of Innovation and Technology (EIT) has designated the MOBiLus consortium as the winning Innovation Community on Urban Mobility on December 5th 2018. The consortium consists of 48 partners: 13 cities, 17 industry partners and 18 universities and research centres across Europe and beyond.

EIT Innovation Communities are dynamic and creative partnerships that harness European innovation and entrepreneurship to find solutions to major societal challenges in areas with high innovation potential, in this case Urban Mobility.

The aim of EIT Urban Mobility is to strengthen European competitiveness, improve access to mobility and increase attractiveness of cities. The motto of the partnership "Mobility for Liveable Urban Spaces" is about moving people, connecting communities, serving businesses and re-imaging public spaces. The EIT Urban Mobility approach addresses five strategic objectives:

- Being Europe's driver for knowledge and innovation in mobility
- Training the next generation of urban mobility practitioners
- Leveraging and upgrading ideas for deployment
- Accelerating tomorrow's mobility services and solutions to the market
- Replicate and scale new mobility solutions to Europe and beyond

The operation will last seven to fifteen years, has a financial volume of 1.6 billion Euro, with up to 25% (or up to 400 million Euro) funded by the EU through the EIT. First results can be expected in 2020. EIT Urban Mobility will be managed by the headquarters in Barcelona (Spain) and five so-called Innovation Hubs

in Copenhagen (Denmark), Prague (Czech Republic), Munich (Germany), Barcelona (Spain) and Helmond (Netherlands).

EIT Urban Mobility brings together the following partners:

Cities:

City of Amsterdam, City of Barcelona, City of Copenhagen, City of Eindhoven, City of Hamburg, City of Helmond, City of Helsinki, City of Istanbul, City of Milan, City of Munich, City of Prague, City of Stockholm, City of Tel Aviv.

Universities and Research Centres:

Aalto University, Amsterdam Institute for Advanced Metropolitan Solutions, Budapest University of Technology and Economics, CARNET, CTAG, Czech Technical University, ENEA, École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne, Eindhoven University of Technology, Fraunhofer Society, Institute of Information Theory and Automation, KTH Royal Institute of Technology, NFF, Polytechnic University of Catalonia, Technical University of Denmark, Technical University of Munich, Technion - Israel Institute of Technology, University College London.

Industry:

Achmea, Altran, Amadeus, BMW, Colruyt Group, E.ON, MOL, Oracle, SEAT, Siemens, Skoda Auto, TASS International, TomTom, Tractebel, UnternehmerTUM, Volkswagen Truck & Bus, Zone Cluster.

The European Institute of Innovation and Technology (EIT) is a unique EU body boosting Europe's ability to innovate, creating pan-European partnerships to find innovative solutions to global challenges.

Contact person for the press and spokesperson of the consortium is our CEO, Maria Tsavachidis, maria.tsavachidis@siemens.com, +49 173 9754660.

https://eit.europa.eu/newsroom/eit-announces-two-innovation-communities-manufacturing-urban-mobility